Early morning gratitude

Standard

We are blessed to live in a special place where two mountain ranges meet, a narrow gorge dividing them.  There is a great energy here and for  me I feel very connected to the natural world when I am lucky enough  to look upon them.

I try to walk each morning and in less that 2 minutes I can be down at an amazing place…IMG_4550

Our Domain has many special things about it, not the least being the views of the ranges and up the valley.

IMG_4548

This gives me such a feeling of perspective and space, which I know is vital for me to feel happy. Here the foothills of  the Ruahine range are behind the wetlands, which create a haven for birdlife and bullrushes!

(Great tinder for fire starting kits….)

IMG_4540

Last week I walked so early the sun had not yet risen, a very special time of day – the windmills always look  amazing, but especially at sunrise….

IMG_4541

This row of huge gum trees is like a great welcome  as I arrive and feel special walking down such a grand avenue.

IMG_4546

Here you can see where the Tararua and Ruahine ranges meet and the Manawatu Gorge divides them.  There are only 5 places in the world where a river starts on one side of a major mountain range ,but ends on the other.  This is one of those places!  Amazing!

IMG_4553

The sun just peeps over the hill where the gorge water joins the Pohangina River to form the Manawatu River.

IMG_4556

The first rays of light touch a tree by the rapidly retreating river.

IMG_4557

Apart from playing fields, play ground, river,camping area and a cemmetry  there are also bush walks where you can enjoy the cool stillness of the bush.

IMG_4560

There are many special trees, like these two grown together. Signs give information to walkers.

IMG_4562

And this gorgeously quirky one, grown into a large “U” shape!

IMG_4564

I love the feeling that large old trees lend to the play area and surrounds.

As I am filling my life with more and more gratitude I find that having so much awe-inspiring nature on my doorstep makes it an easy task!   Feeling grateful is a sure way to bring more goodness into your life and I am truly blessed to live in such a beautiful place, in such a beautiful country.

Thank you,
Thank you,
thank you!

7 responses »

  1. Beautiful pictures; thanks for sharing. Some of them remind me of my old homeland, Aussie. My mother-in-law grew up on a dairy farm in Pahiatua and I have been meaning to come down for a look at the area sometime. This has re-inspired my enthusiasm. Are you a “local” to the area?

    • We have lived here nearly 8 years now, and before that I was born in the UK, grew up in Nelson and have travelled and lived in the lower North Island in between. No sure if 8 years constitutes a local, it is certainy the longest I have lived anywhere!!

  2. just to be nit picky….i dont think you call them windmills Jane (they dont mill anything) a turbine maybe…luving your blog tho….and i will post the schoggi this week…..i forgot…

  3. Wow! I see what you mean about Ashhurst, Jane…it’s beautiful around there! Plus there’s a huge natural learning community in the area…I’m sold! : )

Leave a Reply

