Still playing….

Standard

I feel as though I have always appreciated and supported the kids in their imaginative play.  That has always been my intention.  I  have been so amazed over the years at the things they think up, develop and extend in ways I would never dream up in a million years.

They have so much fun and have always been such an inspiration to me – reminding me to have fun and play as much as possible…

I feel now as though we are in the twilight years of imaginative play in our family.  (Twilight as in nearing the end not as in vampires and werewolves….)

I have loved seeing how Hannah and Ollie extended their passions and interests into more concrete activities as they moved into the next phase. Hannah, who still has a vivid imagination, with writing & movie making.  Ollie with making survival kits, and  you tube videos to share his knowledge.

So when I see Charlie “playing” still I so enjoy it.  I just want to stop the clock.  I want to lie down and roll around in  his  delightful, imaginative games.  I want to bottle them.

 

We had the sprinkler on the lawn.  Charlie started to set up bases, made from chairs, old planks of wood.....

We had the sprinkler on the lawn. Charlie started to set up bases, made from chairs, old planks of wood…..He is peeping out from this one.

With his shield, Charlie would shelter before taking on the water (the enemy) in a rush to the next safe base...

With his shield, Charlie would shelter before taking on the water (the enemy) in a rush to the next safe base…

Occasionally Charlie would go right up  and through the sprinkler, mostly to cool off I think!

Occasionally Charlie would go right up and through the sprinkler, mostly to cool off I think!

I just marvel at the way children can transport themselves into another world.
Out walking the other evening, looking at Christmas lights, Charlie had a stick (weapon) and that is all.  But the whole time he was running ahead, hiding, calling out to imaginary comrades, ducking diving, shooting, rolling.  He was just playing and having such a great time.

I know I go on about the value of Play, a lot.
I am also enjoying the older children as they change and grow.  I am loving the conversations, the new knowledge they bring to the family, the new ideas and opinions.  I love seeing them blossom and become so independent.

As much as I loved the years of playing.

Leave a Reply

